Organization: Day 1- Time to Pull Out the Shoebox…

IMG_1124

A journey of a thousand miles starts with one step-Lao Tzu

Time to get organized.  Physical and digital files are scattered everywhere and I’m finding myself “lost in the weeds” too often lately. My research is suffering.

Today I decided to start by looking at my Ancestry.com shoebox.  I have been an Ancestry.com subscriber for 15 years, and I have probably used the shoebox feature since its inception.  I opened up the shoebox today and found it to be 15 pages!  The oldest items seem to have been placed there in Oct 2005.  Yeah, I think after 11 years its time to decide whether to attach the record to someone in my tree or otherwise deal with it!

I’ve decided to deal with at least 3 pages daily and give myself one week to get this job done.  I’m sure some items will stay in the box but the majority will be cleaned out.  And I will be adding an Ancestry to-do to deal with the box regularly, not wait another decade!

To hold myself accountable I expect to be posting a “Finished” post before Labor Day.  Fingers crossed!

 

 

Leave a comment