Diggin' up Dead People

A Genealogy Blog

New Years 2016

on January 7, 2016

I’ve spent part of this first week of the new year thinking of what family history goals I am looking to pursue.  I’ve thought about the research I’ve done, where I want to look for more answers and what methods I can use to achieve my goals.

Important for me to achieve goals is to think of the how in detail.  Equally important is to give myself some semblance of accountability.  Putting them in writing here in this blog, saying what it is I hope to do is something that puts some of that accountability on me.

While I really enjoyed the 52 Ancestors challenge, and I am so grateful that it spurred me to start a blog, one of the problems I ran into was the shifting ancestor of the week format.  I tried very hard to match an ancestor to a particular weekly (very optional but my option was to use it!) theme.   This meant that one week I might be looking at an ancestor from England on my dad’s side and the next week an ancestor from Brooklyn on my mom’s side.  It was sometimes very jumpy for me to get my head around.  This year, I am thinking in terms of thirds and setting new goals in each third.  I plan to concentrate on one geographic area and family line in 4 month chunks.  If nearing the end of the period, I decide to stay on that line, make it a semi annual goal, so be it.  Of course, if something juicy falls into my lap that lies outside of my goal area I won’t ignore it…but I plan on trying to immerse myself in both the history of the area as well as my ancestors place in that area.

A couple of years ago I began to trace all the descendants of my ancestor John W Hall of Montgomery co. New York.  My first goal area is to *finish* the work I’ve begun on these lines.  (Ok so genealogy is never finished per se).  I had hoped to publish a work detailing the descendants of John, so finished for my purposes is getting this ready for publication in some form, either as an article within a genealogical journal or as a stand alone work.

As I research the people on this line, I hope to continue to blog about my ancestors.  While last year I restricted myself to posting about direct line ancestors, this year I do not plan to exclude siblings and spouses, step children and associates. While not my direct line ancestors, these people shared in and shaped the lives of my ancestors and many of their experiences were shared common experiences.  In that same vein, I do not plan to limit to a person or a couple per post as I had in last year’s posting.

New direction for a New Year!

Happy New Year!

2 responses to “New Years 2016

  1. Stephen McGlynn says:

    Karen you have done a terrific job in the past year. It was very interesting and very infomative. Keep up the good work in the new year
    And Happy New Year to you and the family. Stephen.

    Like

  2. Karen Ramon says:

    Thank you! Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

